Origins I – Parents, Academics & Ninjas

So before we venture off into breaking norms, let’s start by talking a little bit about me and where I come from.

I’m a 23 year old grad student (getting a master’s in I/O Psychology) who recently graduated from undergrad in May 2010. Like most graduates in this time, the job hunt wasn’t going so well for me and grad school seemed like a way to postpone the issue while beefing up my resume.

Based on the general consensus of Google, I am a second generation Asian-American. In other words, my parents immigrated here (thus making them the first). And although I am the first born here in the US, I am the second.

That being said, let’s address the following preconceived notions that may arise:

Just because I’m Asian, this does not mean that…

1. My parents are wealthy and can afford my every whim and desire.

My parents are hard working people who have struggled through a lot to get to where they are today. It’s not that we’re poor or anything. In fact, I know that we are living comfortably compared to a lot of people out there. I use the term “comfortably” to mean that we have a nice roof over our heads, we’re not in any serious debt, we eat out occasionally, and we can afford to go on vacation every now and then. More on this topic later, but just know I don’t come from one of those families.

2. I am amazingly smart and awesome at math and science.

First off, I’m not trying to claim that I’m dumb by any means, but don’t get it in your head that I’m a typical Asian student who constantly destroyed the curve and got a 4.0 GPA even though he has hungover for every exam. In fact, I ended college with a 3.374 GPA. I’m not trying to dock my GPA as embarrassing or whatever, because I know that getting above a 3.0 GPA is a huge deal for some people. And in regards to the math and sciences, I understand the material well enough, but I’m certainly not going to find the cure for diabetes or discover the next mathematical revolution. More on the topic of my college struggle another time, but just know that I have had my fair share of all-nighters.

3. I am secretly a ninja that can climb walls and disappear into the night after going Bruce Lee + Jackie Chan + Jet Li on a group of troublemakers.

Well…. this is true.

(JUST KIDDING!)

Whew… glad to get that off my chest. I hope that this helps to put my ethnic background into perspective on this whole matter. And on Wednsday, we move on to a personality quirk that has been a huge factor in how my life has played out up to this point.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Origins I – Parents, Academics & Ninjas”

  1. Tri Le says :

    To clarify, these stereotypes are just that…stereotypes. In many situations, they are untrue as Ben has articulated.Be aware, however, that they can definitely be true. For example, I am a brilliant Ninja-Doctor. I’m like a normal ninja, I’m earning an MD and throw scalpels instead of ninja stars.

Leave a Reply

