Origins II – Hobbies ADHD

So in regards to figuring out how to go about breaking the norm, I think it’s important to explain a particular idiosyncrasy of mine since I think it will help to put some things in perspective in the future.

To start off, anyone who knows me will be the first to tell you that I can get interested and extremely enthusiastic about practically anything. Now you might wonder, “So what? I know lots of people who get excited about lots of things.” The reason why I make a point to bring this up is because I not only get caught up in the excitement of the activity, but usually I end up tossing in a bit of money pursuing that activity as well. Still not sure what I mean by this? Let me illustrate a picture by showing all of the things I’ve gotten into in the past four years…

  • A Cappella
  • Tennis
  • World of Warcraft
  • Paintball
  • Go (Weiqi/Baduk)
  • Texas Hold’em
  • Photography (DSLR and all)
  • SanGuoSha (Asian equivalent of Bang)
  • Magic: The Gathering
  • And a random assortment of games here and there…

Now if anyone of you know anything about those activities, buying equipment or accessories can get pretty pricey. This holds true for expensive camera equipment, tennis racquet, paintball guns, etc. And so the question is: do I have ADHD? Well I’ve never been tested, but I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that I don’t. I’ve done a lot of introspection on this matter, and I think it stems back to two things that I internalized when I was a kid:

#1. Life is short. & #2. Walk in someone else’s moccasins.

For those who are completely clueless as to the second one, I read a book called “Walk Two Moons” that talked about living in someone else’s shoes (or in this case “moccasins”) in order to gain new perspective on life. With that in mind, what better way for me to explore people’s perspectives and gain various views on life than through the activities that people love so much?

I don’t know if anyone else has found this to be true, but I find that people light up in a special way when they teach and engage in an activity that they are genuinely excited and interested in. When I see someone so engaged and passionate like that, curiosity gets the better of me because I’m just dying to know what it is that they see that I don’t.

So the question ends up being… what do I genuinely like to do that I’m passionate about? You know what? Unfortunately, I’ve tried giving this a bit of thought lately and I can’t seem to come up with an answer. In fact, I can’t help but wonder what I do to make myself happy; but more on this at another time. Meanwhile, you now know the major idiosyncrasy in my life that seems to take me all kinds of directions at all times. Next time, a look at my finances!

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Origins II – Hobbies ADHD”

  1. butterflyxwings says :

    Walk Two Moons is a great book!!! been a while since i read it, i wanna read it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

