The Education Controversy – Response to Post #1

This post is written in response to an influx of comments I received on my Xanga.  


So I apologize for not responding to everyone via individual comments, but I thought it would be best for me to address some of the issues brought up in the awesome responses I received.

  1. For all of you who are paying off, waiting for, or watching someone pay off debt, I totally understand the feeling.  I’m right there with you with a $15,000 grad school loan waiting for me very soon.  I’m not looking forward to it… and in fact I probably have more debt coming my way… but more on that another time.
  2. I know that this topic may not seem controversial to some.  It seems black and white right?  Either you value education or you don’t.  Well my rebuttal to that would be that most people have no idea what they want to do.  I know there’s a point in saying that people figure it out when they go to school, but I would very quickly argue that that point is moot due to the fact that a majority of people get caught up in the social life of college and rarely if ever truly figure it out.  If anything, they get thrown on some random direction with debt and no job prospects.  Going to school to try and figure things out can be a huge financial risk if you’re footing the bill, especially if you get caught up with the norm.  I know it’s how a lot of people try and approach college, but I think that times have changed and that method isn’t for everyone anymore.
  3. To those who are under the impression that it’s stupid that people are in debt for liberal art degrees, I see why you say what you do.  It seems clear cut that people would take classes part time and slowly work their way up to the degree, but we all know that’s not the majority.  First of all, being able to take classes part time without taking a loan out implies that you have a job (which is frankly not in ready supply anymore).  Second, there is the assumption that people have the ability to take their time taking classes.  I mean, what about graduate school and other prospects?  After all, a bachelors is not the end all be all.  Third, subsidized loans are gone.  This means that students can no longer take out loans without worrying about paying back interest while in school.  Can you imagine what will happen when all these students need jobs to help pay off school while they are in school?  It is already hard enough on those who didn’t have the financial means to begin with, now the waters will be filled with students grasping for life.
  4. There was a comment about how scholarships are automatically given out if you have a 3.0 GPA?  I’m not sure what colleges you are talking about, but last I checked it’s not even CLOSE to that simple.  Now if you have SAT scores that are in the 95+ percentile, maybe you have a point.  But again, that’s no help to the majority.
To all the awesome people on Xanga, I know that many of you end up being the exception, and far from the norm.  I write these posts in hopes of providing some insight for those who are starting with very little.  In other words, little to no parental support, no significant other to rely on for finances, no job, no nest egg, etc.  Hopefully this helps to put things in perspective.

Be on the lookout for my next post: Crafting Your Vision!


Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

